In 2008 CIPS introduced the Information Technology Certified Professional (ITCP). The ITCP designation is directed specifically to senior IT practitioners and academics who want to demonstrate to their employer, their clients, their students and their partners that in addition to their IT knowledge they understand how to effectively utilize and apply their organizational experience to achieving organizational excellence

ITCP Entry Routes

The ITCP Certification includes a number of different routes to Certification, each representing a different background by which an IT professional may have reached ITCP level.

Click Here to view the Experience and Education requirements, and various application routes.

ITCP Requirements and Application:

  • ITCP Application (pick one of the following application routes):

  1. Education Plus Experience Route (includes Exam Route) *Most Popular
    • A University/College IT related degree/diploma or BCS/ICCP Exams are required
    • IT Professional Experience required – See:

  2. Established Academic Route
    • For full-time academics with positions in a Computer Science, Software Engineering, Information Systems (IS), or equivalent department at a recognized University or College

  3. IT Industry Leader Route
    • For Senior Executives (i.e. CIO, CTO) at large organizations
    • Must have either a non-IT related degree/diploma or currently hold a professional designation

  4. Australian Computer Society CPEP Route
  5. Existing I.S.P. holders Route

Experience Requirements:

An ITCP applicant will have spent at least the last 24 months in a role that demonstrates that they:

  • i) Possess a well developed broad technical understanding of IT;
  • ii) Understand how IT fits within the organization model;
  • iii) Have competence in one or more specialist areas of IT (technical or domain knowledge) at Skills Framework for the Information Age (SFIA) Level 5 or equivalent or above.
  • iv) Have the capability to operate at the SFIA Level 5 or equivalent or above.

Broad Technical Understanding of IT

Demonstrated mastery of the CIPS Body of Knowledge (BOK) is the benchmark that is used to assess the depth and breadth of an applicant’s IT knowledge.

Measuring Competence

An individual’s competence in an IT specialization is measured by means of the SFIA framework. The framework is divided into the following main six IT areas:

  • Strategy and Architecture
  • Business Change
  • Solutions Development and Implementation
  • Service Management
  • Procurement and Management Support
  • Client Interfaces

Each area is then sub-divided into specific categories (i.e. Business Change includes Business Change Implementation, Business Change Management and Relationships Management). Each category then provides a variety of competency levels. Applicants are assessed against the framework’s Level 4 and Level 5 competencies. General (non- specialized) IT work experience is assessed at SFIA Level 4 and specialized IT work experience is assessed at SFIA Level 5.

Measuring Autonomy and Responsibility

All applicants need to demonstrate they are working or are capable of working at SFIA Level 5. The application process will allow applicants to demonstrate their level of autonomy and influence within their work related activities. The complexity of work will become evident from the information provided via the description of work activities (in both general and specialized areas). Business skills are a key component of the ITCP standard and applicants, through a series of questions in the application, will be asked to demonstrate evidence of these skills.


Once approved for the ITCP Certification, Re-Certification is required every 3 years.

Click Here for the Decision Appeal Process

Don’t have the required IT Experience for the ITCP? Apply for the AITP Designation!

If you have the required IT University or College education for the ITCP but don’t yet possess the required IT experience, you may qualify for “Candidate Membership” and the AITP designation!